Page 1 of 1
Runtime error 6: Overflow
Posted: Thu Aug 21, 2014 9:05 am
by SuperMarioBuilder16
Hello, again, I have to say something about the most common error in SMBX level editor:
Runtime Error.
This time:
Number 6: Overflow.
Now this is normal, not a thing with the SMBX but maybe your Intel Core, or AMD or watever? How about deleted file? Probably about the level you are trying to open?
Now I have no idea, but when I try to open the "Level 21" in my episode, it goes KERPLOOP. No more shit binary or c++ or watever.
This just happened when I tried to test the level when it was "openable". It went Runtime Error "9" Path not found. HOLY SHIT!!!!
Now its just unopenable, but with notepad++ it very confusing. Help!
Re: Runtime error 6: Overflow
Posted: Thu Aug 21, 2014 9:40 am
by Veudekato
you make very many object. overload
Re: Runtime error 6: Overflow
Posted: Thu Aug 21, 2014 1:41 pm
by HeroLinik
Check your debugger. Have you used too many blocks, BGOs, or NPCs? Remember that you can only place 16384 blocks, not 20000.
Re: Runtime error 6: Overflow
Posted: Thu Aug 21, 2014 1:50 pm
by Sevennights
You most likely have to many item objects npcs backgrounds or water quicksand events layers ect. If you do go to debugger and delete most of the things that take it all up. If you can not. Then restart by deleting the file of that world level.
Re: Runtime error 6: Overflow
Posted: Fri Aug 22, 2014 12:04 am
by superhammerbros100
If you put alot of birdos (Mostly like 3, or 8) Some will run fast and birdo's speed will be fast and boom! "Overflow" happens.
Re: Runtime error 6: Overflow
Posted: Fri Aug 22, 2014 2:11 am
by bossedit8
Yeah, it can be the case of having a NPC just being super fast for no reason after he jumps on another one and the error can happen because he clips through everything super super fast just for "speed=2".
Re: Runtime error 6: Overflow
Posted: Fri Aug 22, 2014 9:38 am
by superhammerbros100
bossedit8 wrote:Yeah, it can be the case of having a NPC just being super fast for no reason after he jumps on another one and the error can happen because he clips through everything super super fast just for "speed=2".
It just works with Birdo, but i think it also does with Mouser. (Warts can't walk at top of others warts.)
Re: Runtime error 6: Overflow
Posted: Fri Aug 22, 2014 1:15 pm
by SuperMarioBuilder16
I found out the source, missing background, it seems I placed a background in the editor. It was 3 blocks wide and 1 block tall. For some reason, the editor says its only two blocks to fit the natural SMBX. But one block was misplaced, In-game, it says to activate all backgrounds, including animated backgrounds. With one block of a whole missing, it keeps on activated that background... I'm not so sure what the real thing is, but its just a hypothesis.