SMBX2 Beta 5 RELEASE! ➡️ Discussion & bugs here!

General discussion about Super Mario Bros. X.
Just_Thomas
Spike
Spike
Posts: 296
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2023 3:32 am
Pronouns: he/him

Re: SMBX2 Beta 5 RELEASE! ➡️ Discussion & bugs here!

Postby Just_Thomas » Mon Apr 22, 2024 3:25 pm

More of a question actually:
Why does the "Power" of the "Launch Barrel Settings" only really work 100% with "Start Angle" 0?
If I set "Power" to 99, I can fling myself in the sky effortlessly, but in all other directions it only works rather powerlessly.
So if I would want to mimic a barrel blast level from DKC, I still would have to put these barrels very close to each other (unless it is upwards, this - like I said - works like a charm). Does somebody know? I don`t think it is a bug, but I still don`t quite get it, why it is not working that well.

Actually I would even say, a change in "Power" only works vertically, otherwise I feel like it just stays on the default value: 15.0

deice
Volcano Lotus
Volcano Lotus
Posts: 560
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2021 7:35 am

Re: SMBX2 Beta 5 RELEASE! ➡️ Discussion & bugs here!

Postby deice » Tue Apr 23, 2024 6:32 am

Just_Thomas wrote:
Mon Apr 22, 2024 3:25 pm
More of a question actually:
Why does the "Power" of the "Launch Barrel Settings" only really work 100% with "Start Angle" 0?
If I set "Power" to 99, I can fling myself in the sky effortlessly, but in all other directions it only works rather powerlessly.
So if I would want to mimic a barrel blast level from DKC, I still would have to put these barrels very close to each other (unless it is upwards, this - like I said - works like a charm). Does somebody know? I don`t think it is a bug, but I still don`t quite get it, why it is not working that well.

Actually I would even say, a change in "Power" only works vertically, otherwise I feel like it just stays on the default value: 15.0
are you holding run while being shot out? smbx caps the player's horizontal speed while run is being held even if the player isn't actually running on the ground, so you might not get the distance you want unless you let go of run first.

Just_Thomas
Spike
Spike
Posts: 296
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2023 3:32 am
Pronouns: he/him

Re: SMBX2 Beta 5 RELEASE! ➡️ Discussion & bugs here!

Postby Just_Thomas » Tue Apr 23, 2024 7:40 am

deice wrote:
Tue Apr 23, 2024 6:32 am
Just_Thomas wrote:
Mon Apr 22, 2024 3:25 pm
More of a question actually:
Why does the "Power" of the "Launch Barrel Settings" only really work 100% with "Start Angle" 0?
If I set "Power" to 99, I can fling myself in the sky effortlessly, but in all other directions it only works rather powerlessly.
So if I would want to mimic a barrel blast level from DKC, I still would have to put these barrels very close to each other (unless it is upwards, this - like I said - works like a charm). Does somebody know? I don`t think it is a bug, but I still don`t quite get it, why it is not working that well.

Actually I would even say, a change in "Power" only works vertically, otherwise I feel like it just stays on the default value: 15.0
are you holding run while being shot out? smbx caps the player's horizontal speed while run is being held even if the player isn't actually running on the ground, so you might not get the distance you want unless you let go of run first.
I see no difference here.
First gif: I get shot right, first attempt without running, second one WITH running.
Second gif: No difference, in both cases the power is maximum (*insert stupid LSSJ Broly joke here*)

Image

Image

deice
Volcano Lotus
Volcano Lotus
Posts: 560
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2021 7:35 am

Re: SMBX2 Beta 5 RELEASE! ➡️ Discussion & bugs here!

Postby deice » Tue Apr 23, 2024 2:28 pm

Just_Thomas wrote:
Tue Apr 23, 2024 7:40 am
First gif: I get shot right, first attempt without running, second one WITH running.
Second gif: No difference, in both cases the power is maximum (*insert stupid LSSJ Broly joke here*)
ah yea, my bad. i just checked and it's the other way around. the barrels manually apply exponential horizontal momentum decay and thus it's required to hold run + a direction to get a decent amount of speed. this is hardcoded into the barrel ai (you can check around line 300 in launchBarrel.lua) and is thus impossible to change without a lot of tinkering, so you may end up having to compromise.

Just_Thomas
Spike
Spike
Posts: 296
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2023 3:32 am
Pronouns: he/him

Re: SMBX2 Beta 5 RELEASE! ➡️ Discussion & bugs here!

Postby Just_Thomas » Tue Apr 23, 2024 3:19 pm

deice wrote:
Tue Apr 23, 2024 2:28 pm
Just_Thomas wrote:
Tue Apr 23, 2024 7:40 am
First gif: I get shot right, first attempt without running, second one WITH running.
Second gif: No difference, in both cases the power is maximum (*insert stupid LSSJ Broly joke here*)
ah yea, my bad. i just checked and it's the other way around. the barrels manually apply exponential horizontal momentum decay and thus it's required to hold run + a direction to get a decent amount of speed. this is hardcoded into the barrel ai (you can check around line 300 in launchBarrel.lua) and is thus impossible to change without a lot of tinkering, so you may end up having to compromise.
Thanks for the reply. If this is almost impossible to change technically, then so be it.
But it's nice to know that, instead of making nonsensical attempts that won't lead to success anyway and will only lead to frustration. (:

harryhenry
Goomba
Goomba
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2024 1:39 am
Pronouns: he/him

Re: SMBX2 Beta 5 RELEASE! ➡️ Discussion & bugs here!

Postby harryhenry » Sat Apr 27, 2024 1:42 am

Does anyone know how to use widescreen? I downloaded the latest version, but looking through the config files gave me nothing about changing the screen size, nor did I see anything in the linked documentation about this either.

mariobrigade2018
Flurry
Flurry
Posts: 376
Joined: Wed May 24, 2023 7:00 pm
Flair: Normie in coding who dreams of making a Mario game
Pronouns: he/him

Re: SMBX2 Beta 5 RELEASE! ➡️ Discussion & bugs here!

Postby mariobrigade2018 » Sat Apr 27, 2024 2:47 am

harryhenry wrote:
Sat Apr 27, 2024 1:42 am
Does anyone know how to use widescreen? I downloaded the latest version, but looking through the config files gave me nothing about changing the screen size, nor did I see anything in the linked documentation about this either.

Code: Select all

Graphics.setMainFramebufferSize(width,height)
function onCameraUpdate()
camera.width,camera.height = Graphics.getMainFramebufferSize()
end
Default size for width and hight is 600x800

Found it in this video: https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=oqE7a2vHF ... IgYmV0YSA1

harryhenry
Goomba
Goomba
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2024 1:39 am
Pronouns: he/him

Re: SMBX2 Beta 5 RELEASE! ➡️ Discussion & bugs here!

Postby harryhenry » Sat Apr 27, 2024 3:14 am

mariobrigade2018 wrote:
Sat Apr 27, 2024 2:47 am
harryhenry wrote:
Sat Apr 27, 2024 1:42 am
Does anyone know how to use widescreen? I downloaded the latest version, but looking through the config files gave me nothing about changing the screen size, nor did I see anything in the linked documentation about this either.

Code: Select all

Graphics.setMainFramebufferSize(width,height)
function onCameraUpdate()
camera.width,camera.height = Graphics.getMainFramebufferSize()
end
Default size for width and hight is 600x800

Found it in this video: https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=oqE7a2vHF ... IgYmV0YSA1
I saw that as well, but where do I put that code? (I'm someone from the old days of SMBX who still hasn't gotten used to the editor, so all the new code/Lua stuff is confusing, though I'm still up for learning more about how all this works).

mariobrigade2018
Flurry
Flurry
Posts: 376
Joined: Wed May 24, 2023 7:00 pm
Flair: Normie in coding who dreams of making a Mario game
Pronouns: he/him

Re: SMBX2 Beta 5 RELEASE! ➡️ Discussion & bugs here!

Postby mariobrigade2018 » Sat Apr 27, 2024 3:05 pm

harryhenry wrote:
Sat Apr 27, 2024 3:14 am
mariobrigade2018 wrote:
Sat Apr 27, 2024 2:47 am
harryhenry wrote:
Sat Apr 27, 2024 1:42 am
Does anyone know how to use widescreen? I downloaded the latest version, but looking through the config files gave me nothing about changing the screen size, nor did I see anything in the linked documentation about this either.

Code: Select all

Graphics.setMainFramebufferSize(width,height)
function onCameraUpdate()
camera.width,camera.height = Graphics.getMainFramebufferSize()
end
Default size for width and hight is 600x800

Found it in this video: https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=oqE7a2vHF ... IgYmV0YSA1
I saw that as well, but where do I put that code? (I'm someone from the old days of SMBX who still hasn't gotten used to the editor, so all the new code/Lua stuff is confusing, though I'm still up for learning more about how all this works).
Hm. If you’re confused on the editor, then I can give you this:
https://docs.codehaus.moe/#/general/editor

You’ll want to find script—>LunaLua—>Level Local. Level Local is for that level only, Level Global is for the entire episode (both will be called luna.lua), and World Map Script is exactly what it sounds like. (and will be called map.lua)

Then you’ll paste the code in the luna.lua file that you created. Preferably at the bottom of the file.

Sednaiur
Volcano Lotus
Volcano Lotus
Posts: 579
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2013 2:16 pm

Re: SMBX2 Beta 5 RELEASE! ➡️ Discussion & bugs here!

Postby Sednaiur » Sun Apr 28, 2024 9:43 am

I found a bug with npc-542 (the falling and shattering icicle-NPC):
Spoiler: show
Image
The bug message occurs when setting "slippery=0" inside a .TXT file of that specific NPC only (the other icicle/stalactite-NPCs do not show this message).
Strangely enough, the code still works and the NPC is not slippery anymore but that message pops up everytime one plays the level.

EDIT:
Another bug related to all the stalactite/icicle-NPCs:
Spoiler: show
Image
This one happens when setting the "breaksound"-flag and triggers continuously. Again, the sound does change but this makes the level unplayable.

DisasterMaster
Tweeter
Tweeter
Posts: 152
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2020 10:01 pm

Re: SMBX2 Beta 5 RELEASE! ➡️ Discussion & bugs here!

Postby DisasterMaster » Sun Apr 28, 2024 11:20 pm

Not sure if this always happened, but Grafs/Weiersgrafs/Van De Grafs stop their horizontal movement after screen wrapping on horizontal wrap sections. If they have back-and-forth movement, they will stop at the screen's edge and return back to their original position.
Image

mariobrigade2018
Flurry
Flurry
Posts: 376
Joined: Wed May 24, 2023 7:00 pm
Flair: Normie in coding who dreams of making a Mario game
Pronouns: he/him

Re: SMBX2 Beta 5 RELEASE! ➡️ Discussion & bugs here!

Postby mariobrigade2018 » Mon Apr 29, 2024 2:28 pm

No clue if this is intentional or not, but the piranha plants don't recognize custom SFXs.

Image

PopYoshi
Charged Spiny
Charged Spiny
Posts: 1807
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2014 12:48 pm

Re: SMBX2 Beta 5 RELEASE! ➡️ Discussion & bugs here!

Postby PopYoshi » Sat May 04, 2024 5:57 pm

I leave for a good while. I login and there's new update

Sick.

mariobrigade2018
Flurry
Flurry
Posts: 376
Joined: Wed May 24, 2023 7:00 pm
Flair: Normie in coding who dreams of making a Mario game
Pronouns: he/him

Re: SMBX2 Beta 5 RELEASE! ➡️ Discussion & bugs here!

Postby mariobrigade2018 » Sat May 04, 2024 6:48 pm

PopYoshi wrote:
Sat May 04, 2024 5:57 pm
I leave for a good while. I login and there's new update

Sick.
Welcome back! Hope you have a good time with the new NPCs and features.

Just_Thomas
Spike
Spike
Posts: 296
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2023 3:32 am
Pronouns: he/him

Re: SMBX2 Beta 5 RELEASE! ➡️ Discussion & bugs here!

Postby Just_Thomas » Fri May 17, 2024 4:24 am

About the blue yoshi and it`s flying ability (only with blue shells?)
Image
Image
Is this supposed to happen? I am honest, I don`t know for sure. Either it is a bug or the description of the blue shell is misleading.
(red shell etc. also works)

Edit: I can't really check it because I don't know SMW in my sleep and the complete version at NSO has these stupid mario-ed shells where I can't see what's going on. So it's supposed to be like this (I did read it now, ..). Fine, I was just asking through. (:
Last edited by Just_Thomas on Fri May 17, 2024 5:55 am, edited 2 times in total.

Emral
Cute Yoshi Egg
Cute Yoshi Egg
Posts: 9762
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 12:58 pm
Flair: Phoenix

Re: SMBX2 Beta 5 RELEASE! ➡️ Discussion & bugs here!

Postby Emral » Fri May 17, 2024 5:28 am

Please read Blue Yoshi's description as well.

Daring Tombstone
Tweeter
Tweeter
Posts: 160
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:57 pm
Flair: What? Not 1000 posts? That means I suck right?

Re: SMBX2 Beta 5 RELEASE! ➡️ Discussion & bugs here!

Postby Daring Tombstone » Sun May 19, 2024 5:22 pm

The falling stalactites and icicles lose their hitbox if you take damage on them and respawn them by going offscreen a little bit.

Just_Thomas
Spike
Spike
Posts: 296
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2023 3:32 am
Pronouns: he/him

Re: SMBX2 Beta 5 RELEASE! ➡️ Discussion & bugs here!

Postby Just_Thomas » Mon May 20, 2024 4:31 am

Ok, after my "brain fart" fail last time with the blue yoshi, I am now asking really really carefully:
What did I set up wrong or what did I forget that I have gotten this error here?

When I want to buy the mushroom:
Image
And when I buy to want the custom addition, the goomba:
Image

Following code is used:

Code: Select all

local lakitushop = require("lakitushop")

local ITEM_GOOMBA = lakitushop.addItem{
    id = 1,
    price = 1,
    name = "Your best friend"
}

lakitushop.addPreset("myPreset", {
    items = {
        lakitushop.SUPER_LEAF,
        ITEM_GOOMBA
    },
    config = {
        confirmPurchase = true
    }
})
It is the example code from: https://docs.codehaus.moe/#/modules/lakitushop
I only changed the price value.
There is no other code in the test level and also nothing else from which I think it could cause this error.
(not posting the gifs as you can not really see there anything releated to the errors, I merely select the items and buy them and the errors do appear)

mariobrigade2018
Flurry
Flurry
Posts: 376
Joined: Wed May 24, 2023 7:00 pm
Flair: Normie in coding who dreams of making a Mario game
Pronouns: he/him

Re: SMBX2 Beta 5 RELEASE! ➡️ Discussion & bugs here!

Postby mariobrigade2018 » Mon May 20, 2024 1:21 pm

Just_Thomas wrote:
Mon May 20, 2024 4:31 am
Ok, after my "brain fart" fail last time with the blue yoshi, I am now asking really really carefully:
What did I set up wrong or what did I forget that I have gotten this error here?

When I want to buy the mushroom:
Image
And when I buy to want the custom addition, the goomba:
Image

Following code is used:

Code: Select all

local lakitushop = require("lakitushop")

local ITEM_GOOMBA = lakitushop.addItem{
    id = 1,
    price = 1,
    name = "Your best friend"
}

lakitushop.addPreset("myPreset", {
    items = {
        lakitushop.SUPER_LEAF,
        ITEM_GOOMBA
    },
    config = {
        confirmPurchase = true
    }
})
It is the example code from: https://docs.codehaus.moe/#/modules/lakitushop
I only changed the price value.
There is no other code in the test level and also nothing else from which I think it could cause this error.
(not posting the gifs as you can not really see there anything releated to the errors, I merely select the items and buy them and the errors do appear)
This bug has been fixed for patch 3. (Hasn’t released yet.)

Just_Thomas
Spike
Spike
Posts: 296
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2023 3:32 am
Pronouns: he/him

Re: SMBX2 Beta 5 RELEASE! ➡️ Discussion & bugs here!

Postby Just_Thomas » Tue May 21, 2024 2:57 am

mariobrigade2018 wrote:
Mon May 20, 2024 1:21 pm
This bug has been fixed for patch 3. (Hasn’t released yet.)
I see, thanks for the info.


Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Petal [Bot] and 0 guests

SMWCentralTalkhausMario Fan Games GalaxyKafukaMarioWikiSMBXEquipoEstelari