Can someone make a code for X amount of stars triggers an event?

Post here for help and support regarding LunaLua and SMBX2's libraries and features.
CerealCat
Rex
Rex
Flair: twitch.tv/mscerealcat
Pronouns: she/they

Can someone make a code for X amount of stars triggers an event?

Postby CerealCat » Wed Oct 20, 2021 5:32 am

I don't know how to code anything and I didn't find any results searching for this. I'm wanting an event to play in my hub world after collecting a certain amount of stars. I don't know if it's possible, but I look forward to waking up tomorrow and seeing what replies I get. :)

DrMekar
Eerie
Eerie
Flair: CUSTOM CHARACTER CREATOR

Re: Can someone make a code for X amount of stars triggers an event?

Postby DrMekar » Wed Oct 20, 2021 6:48 am

You could probably do this via Save Data, so I'm not an Expert at this.

deice
Volcano Lotus
Volcano Lotus

Postby deice » Wed Oct 20, 2021 7:22 am

CerealCat wrote:
Wed Oct 20, 2021 5:32 am
I don't know how to code anything and I didn't find any results searching for this. I'm wanting an event to play in my hub world after collecting a certain amount of stars. I don't know if it's possible, but I look forward to waking up tomorrow and seeing what replies I get. :)
while i assume you mean the overworld by "hub world", i'll offer up a solution to both interpretations just to be sure.

if you mean performing an action when the player enters the overworld for the first time after collecting a set amount of stars, first you have to ensure it can't happen more than once. so, inside onStart() within your "map.lua", you'll want to set a custom field inside SaveData that dictates whether the action has already been done, something like:

Code: Select all

if (SaveData.xStarsEventDone == nil) then SaveData.xStarsEventDone = false end