Unusuality (DEMO 2 OUT!)

Share your work-in-progress SMBX episode or browse and support others'.
EeveeEuphoria
Shy Guy
Shy Guy
Flair: possums good
Pronouns: it/its, she/her

Unusuality (DEMO 2 OUT!)

Postby EeveeEuphoria » Mon Feb 22, 2021 4:28 am

This is a SMBX2 project that has files dating back to 2017, but I know I must've worked on some of it before then, so let's say I've been working on and off of this since 2016! It's been through a lot of different changes over the past 4-5 years I've been working on it, initially being conceived for SMBX-38A, and moving over to SMBX2 quickly after I learned of its existence!

I've been working real hard on it as of late, due to the fact I've learned how to use lua via modding Sonic Robo Blast 2 (a different, yet also cool fan game, that uses it's own funky form of lua!), and as such I've been able to modify this game to my liking, giving this episode it's own unique flavor. I currently have plans on releasing a demo of this sometime before February ends!

Features
  • Infinite lives system, player will instead lose coins on death! That's relevant because...
  • There's a shop system in this! You can spend coins on power-ups/temporary powers, and star coins on permanent upgrades!
  • A custom pause menu is in place, allowing options to be changed, and viewing current progress in the episode!
  • Upgrades include a costume changing door, and a character swapper door, and two reserved items!
  • There are currently 25 collectable stars in the second demo!
  • 2 worlds are currently complete, with an unfinished 3rd world being accessible too!
  • There's currently 2 hidden levels you can discover!
Future Plans
  • Finishing World 3, and figuring out what World 4 and so on should be like! I think I'll re-use an older idea I had in mind for World 4, dunno yet.
  • Determining what to do from World 4 and onward.
Screenshots

Hub World
Spoiler: show
World 1, AKA Toad Town!
Another section of Toad Town!