General Help and Quick Questions

Need help with any SMBX game-related issues? Ask your questions here.
aero
Palom
Palom

General Help and Quick Questions

Postby aero » Sat Feb 22, 2020 2:30 pm

This thread is for general help with using Super Mario Bros. X and asking quick questions. If you anticipate your question will take one or two replies, and doesn't deserve its own topic then this is the place to ask. For more technical questions feel free to make a new topic but please include screenshots, error logs, and/or your code if applicable.

The following resources are good references to check before posting: Also consider joining the SMBX Discord server and asking for help: https://discord.gg/S2eAAy6

CJK
Koopa
Koopa

Re: General Help and Quick Questions

Postby CJK » Thu Mar 05, 2020 9:29 pm

I have an oddly specific question but one which could only warrant a few responses.

So I'm making levels that resembles those in SMW (although I'm also quite new to SMBX). To mimic the SMW experience, I referred to some lunalua code that makes the camera move similarly to the SMW camera (details of code: https://wohlsoft.ru/pgewiki/SMWcamera.lua). I'm also trying to zoom in the camera since the standard SMBX camera is much bigger than the one used for SMW. I added some extra code into the SMWcamera file copied from another thread in this forum to accomplish this.

Code: Select all

local handycam = require("handycam") handycam[1].zoom = 1.2
The problem is that when the camera zooms in, it either leaves the player behind or obscures the very bottom of the section. If I were to place lava at the bottom of the level, I wouldn't be able to see it when playing.

My question is: How do I move a zoomed camera downwards (and leftwards since the camera never shows the very left two blocks of the section) in Lua?

The full line of code I copied is super long so I'll only post it if asked.

Thanks!

Chilly14
Snifit
Snifit
Flair: wash your hands and stay at home
Pronouns: he/him