Fortress of the 8-Bits

They're not that bad, but they're not that good either.
Wolvergrad
Goomba
Goomba

Fortress of the 8-Bits

Postby Wolvergrad » Wed Jul 20, 2016 12:07 pm

First, I hope that I am allowed to post on this forum, I'm a newbie and I don't really know my way around these forums.

INTRODUCTION
This is my first attempt at making a SMB level using the SMBX level editor. This level could be associated with a pilot level of a bigger project that I plan to work on in the near future. As a "story" for this level, The 8-Bits, Wart's minions, have taken over a province of the Mushroom Kingdom and build here a wooden fortress. Mario/Luigi must make his way to the fortress itself, avoiding the traps set for him and defeat the 8-Bits, in order to "recapture" the lost province.

TECHNICAL DETAILS, PLEASE READ
The level itself, despite being kind of short(it has 3 sections, the last being the boss room), it's size is comparable with the third or four castle of SMW. The traps are inspired from the old Captain Claw game, in case you heard about it. Some of them require a bit of thinking, which employs the use of the items scattered in the surrounding.
This level is about experimenting first(with the traps) and then finding a solution to pass it, so don't get mad if you will die once or twice. ;) Don't be scared, this is by far not a Kaizo level, if I made it sound like that, it could fit in the Medium-Hard category.

The level doesn't contain any custom graphics or sprites, but I made one custom layer/event. It contains two sections, one outside the fortress and one on the inside, and there's also a third one, which is the Boss Room.

SCREENSHOTS
Here are some screenshots of me playing the level. The first three are made in Section 1, and the last in Section 2.
Spoiler: show
DOWNLOAD LINK
http://www.mediafire.com/download/rbzez ... ts+1.1.zip

Anyways, I am disposed to change things in my level if your reviews may convince me to do so.(by posting improvements)