Page 7 of 7
Re: General Help and Quick Questions
Posted: Tue May 28, 2024 4:39 pm
by Cat king
How do I use the world map? whenever I try to use it, it will just spawn me on a random location, and I can't move. Am I missing something? I set the spawn location (via through individual tile settings) on the start block.
This is me pushing every direction.

Re: General Help and Quick Questions
Posted: Tue May 28, 2024 6:20 pm
by mariobrigade2018
Put a level and ensure that the "Game start point " checkbox is true. Like this:

Re: General Help and Quick Questions
Posted: Wed May 29, 2024 2:16 pm
by Cat king
Sorry, my bad. I did not make it clear.
I already am doing that, but it still does the exact same thing. And yes, I saved the world before testing it.
Re: General Help and Quick Questions
Posted: Wed May 29, 2024 4:49 pm
by deice
Cat king wrote: ↑Wed May 29, 2024 2:16 pm
I already am doing that, but it still does the exact same thing. And yes, I saved the world before testing it.
if you have any save files (sav#.sav and sav#-ext.dat) in your episode folder, make sure to delete those as well before testing.
Re: General Help and Quick Questions
Posted: Thu May 30, 2024 3:06 pm
by Cat king
deice wrote: ↑Wed May 29, 2024 4:49 pm
Cat king wrote: ↑Wed May 29, 2024 2:16 pm
I already am doing that, but it still does the exact same thing. And yes, I saved the world before testing it.
if you have any save files (sav#.sav and sav#-ext.dat) in your episode folder, make sure to delete those as well before testing.
Thanks it works now!
Layer Movement Desync when Hurt
Posted: Thu Aug 01, 2024 4:45 am
by asdfagi
I have some basic code in a luna.lua file that moves around some layers, but I have encountered a problem. Whenever a player is hurt or gets a powerup, the game stops moving certain things (layers, for instance), but the lua code continues to run, causing the layer movements to misalign. Is there any way to fix this, for instance by stopping some code from running while the player is taking damage/getting a powerup?
the lua code:
Code: Select all
function onLoadSection()
ichor = Layer.get("Ichor")
platformsSine = Layer.get("PlatformsSine (+)")
platformsSineMinus = Layer.get("PlatformsSine (-)")
platformsCosine = Layer.get("PlatformsCosine (+)")
platformsCosineMinus = Layer.get("PlatformsCosine (-)")
end
function onTick()
if counter == nil then counter = 0 end
counter = counter + 0.025
if ichor then ichor.speedY = math.sin(counter) end
if platformsSine then platformsSine.speedY = math.sin(counter/2) end
if platformsSineMinus then platformsSineMinus.speedY = -math.sin(counter/2) end
if platformsCosine then platformsCosine.speedY = math.cos(counter/2) end
if platformsCosineMinus then platformsCosineMinus.speedY = -math.cos(counter/2) end
end
Re: General Help and Quick Questions
Posted: Mon Aug 05, 2024 3:44 pm
by Retro
deice wrote: ↑Mon Jan 24, 2022 2:50 pm
Shrek128 wrote: ↑Mon Jan 24, 2022 2:22 pm
I have a question: how do you create a level that can be played only once?
if you mean a level that makes itself completely unplayable after being cleared, this isn't possible within vanilla smbx. maybe using lua you could wait until the level's been exited and then overwrite the level file with junk, but lunalua has limitations to it's file system to prevent malicious code from being run so i'm not sure if that's possible either.
if you mean a level that isn't (practically) accessible after being played once, it depends:
- in a hub-style episode, you could for example require something like a switch palace switch to be pressed to beat the level, then block it off in the hub using that same switch. there's plenty of ways to go about it even in vanilla.
- on the world map, there's no real way to block levels off from the get-go without using lua. any way of blocking entry in a level would have to be within the level itself (example, a wall and an offscreen exit) but this is a bit crude.
If you are making a intro level, then that is no exeption. if you want it to be unplayable, then never put the level on the hub/world map.
Re: General Help and Quick Questions
Posted: Sat Aug 31, 2024 6:42 am
by Retro
Is it okay to rip graphics from episodes? 90% of the STTB2 world map graphics are lost forever and/or don't have confirmed author so is it okay to repost a downloadable link of the world map graphics? i won't claim them as my own, of course.
Re: General Help and Quick Questions
Posted: Sat Sep 07, 2024 9:08 pm
by Alagirez
Even though you don't claim it, reposting unreleased stuff without permission isn't okay.
Re: General Help and Quick Questions
Posted: Sun Sep 08, 2024 8:31 am
by Idunn
Mega wrote: ↑Sat Aug 31, 2024 6:42 am
Is it okay to rip graphics from episodes?
Short: No it's not okay.
Re: General Help and Quick Questions
Posted: Sat Oct 12, 2024 2:12 pm
by ben
As I installed SMBX 1.3.0.1 on my computer, I also downloaded the Ultimate Graphic Pack from Red Yoshi and Supermarioman from the SMBX homepage and saved it to an external hard drive at some point.
Unfortunately, this hard drive broke recently.
Maybe someone can tell me where I can find the above mentioned pack or something similar to this pack.
It would be nice if this pack is compatible with SMBX 2 beta 5 and following versions of SMBX 2.

Wasn't sure about this for a while regarding the control scheme...
Posted: Thu Oct 24, 2024 7:40 pm
by MarioTheGre
I know SMBX is meant to use an SNES based control scheme, but I feel like I NEED to have the alt jump as the bumpers and both A and B to be just plain 'ol jump, and I didn't know where to place this. Is there a way to have multiple buttons map to the same thing (or if it's a planned thing for the future)? It's just been bugging me that I can't map two buttons all for one simple function (considering I'm very much used to modern controls and it still confuses me a ton having to get used to these controls all the time).
Re: General Help and Quick Questions
Posted: Sat Mar 29, 2025 10:03 pm
by hooty557
When I open up the installer Microsoft Defender tells me that they just protected my pc, and if I run the program it might put my pc at risk. Is this normal? Will this give me a virus? Should I still run it anyway? Or am I just being over protected of my pc since I don't want a virus on my pc

Re: General Help and Quick Questions
Posted: Sun Mar 30, 2025 3:53 am
by Squishy Rex
As long as you have downloaded the installer from the downloads page on codehaus, it is completely fine. Defender only targets X2 because it is not known to Microsoft as a trusted program.
Re: General Help and Quick Questions
Posted: Fri Apr 18, 2025 7:32 pm
by Xndrcrn
Hello I downloaded latest version of the game smbx2 5 and when I try to open it nothing pops up but it does run in task manager. How can I fix this issue? I also tried beta 4 but I had same issue

Re: General Help and Quick Questions
Posted: Wed Apr 23, 2025 10:42 pm
by Xndrcrn
Xndrcrn wrote: ↑Fri Apr 18, 2025 7:32 pm
Hello I downloaded latest version of the game smbx2 5 and when I try to open it nothing pops up but it does run in task manager. How can I fix this issue? I also tried beta 4 but I had same issue
anyone?
Re: General Help and Quick Questions
Posted: Sat Apr 26, 2025 4:05 pm
by Retro
What type of PC and GPU do you use? im asking because it could either be a problem from the pogram, or your computer itself.