Need help with any SMBX game-related issues? Ask your questions here.
|
|
|
|
-
Cat king
- Swooper
- Posts: 53
- Joined: Thu Feb 29, 2024 1:04 pm
- Flair: Mario kart wii is #1
- Pronouns: he/him
Postby Cat king » Tue May 28, 2024 4:39 pm
How do I use the world map? whenever I try to use it, it will just spawn me on a random location, and I can't move. Am I missing something? I set the spawn location (via through individual tile settings) on the start block.
This is me pushing every direction.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
-
mariobrigade2018
- Buster Beetle
- Posts: 414
- Joined: Wed May 24, 2023 7:00 pm
- Flair: Normie in coding who dreams of making a Mario game
- Pronouns: he/him
Postby mariobrigade2018 » Tue May 28, 2024 6:20 pm
Put a level and ensure that the "Game start point " checkbox is true. Like this:
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
-
Cat king
- Swooper
- Posts: 53
- Joined: Thu Feb 29, 2024 1:04 pm
- Flair: Mario kart wii is #1
- Pronouns: he/him
Postby Cat king » Wed May 29, 2024 2:16 pm
Sorry, my bad. I did not make it clear.
I already am doing that, but it still does the exact same thing. And yes, I saved the world before testing it.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
-
deice
- Volcano Lotus
- Posts: 569
- Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2021 7:35 am
Postby deice » Wed May 29, 2024 4:49 pm
Cat king wrote: ↑Wed May 29, 2024 2:16 pm
I already am doing that, but it still does the exact same thing. And yes, I saved the world before testing it.
if you have any save files (sav#.sav and sav#-ext.dat) in your episode folder, make sure to delete those as well before testing.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
-
Cat king
- Swooper
- Posts: 53
- Joined: Thu Feb 29, 2024 1:04 pm
- Flair: Mario kart wii is #1
- Pronouns: he/him
Postby Cat king » Thu May 30, 2024 3:06 pm
deice wrote: ↑Wed May 29, 2024 4:49 pm
Cat king wrote: ↑Wed May 29, 2024 2:16 pm
I already am doing that, but it still does the exact same thing. And yes, I saved the world before testing it.
if you have any save files (sav#.sav and sav#-ext.dat) in your episode folder, make sure to delete those as well before testing.
Thanks it works now!
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
-
asdfagi
- Goomba
- Posts: 1
- Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2024 4:34 am
- Pronouns: he/him
Postby asdfagi » Thu Aug 01, 2024 4:45 am
I have some basic code in a luna.lua file that moves around some layers, but I have encountered a problem. Whenever a player is hurt or gets a powerup, the game stops moving certain things (layers, for instance), but the lua code continues to run, causing the layer movements to misalign. Is there any way to fix this, for instance by stopping some code from running while the player is taking damage/getting a powerup?
the lua code:
Code: Select all function onLoadSection()
ichor = Layer.get("Ichor")
platformsSine = Layer.get("PlatformsSine (+)")
platformsSineMinus = Layer.get("PlatformsSine (-)")
platformsCosine = Layer.get("PlatformsCosine (+)")
platformsCosineMinus = Layer.get("PlatformsCosine (-)")
end
function onTick()
if counter == nil then counter = 0 end
counter = counter + 0.025
if ichor then ichor.speedY = math.sin(counter) end
if platformsSine then platformsSine.speedY = math.sin(counter/2) end
if platformsSineMinus then platformsSineMinus.speedY = -math.sin(counter/2) end
if platformsCosine then platformsCosine.speedY = math.cos(counter/2) end
if platformsCosineMinus then platformsCosineMinus.speedY = -math.cos(counter/2) end
end
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
-
Calamityguy1987
- Dolphin
- Posts: 87
- Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2024 5:34 am
- Flair: Jhoto needs a overhaul
- Pronouns: male
Postby Calamityguy1987 » Mon Aug 05, 2024 3:44 pm
deice wrote: ↑Mon Jan 24, 2022 2:50 pm
Shrek128 wrote: ↑Mon Jan 24, 2022 2:22 pm
I have a question: how do you create a level that can be played only once?
if you mean a level that makes itself completely unplayable after being cleared, this isn't possible within vanilla smbx. maybe using lua you could wait until the level's been exited and then overwrite the level file with junk, but lunalua has limitations to it's file system to prevent malicious code from being run so i'm not sure if that's possible either.
if you mean a level that isn't (practically) accessible after being played once, it depends:
- in a hub-style episode, you could for example require something like a switch palace switch to be pressed to beat the level, then block it off in the hub using that same switch. there's plenty of ways to go about it even in vanilla.
- on the world map, there's no real way to block levels off from the get-go without using lua. any way of blocking entry in a level would have to be within the level itself (example, a wall and an offscreen exit) but this is a bit crude.
If you are making a intro level, then that is no exeption. if you want it to be unplayable, then never put the level on the hub/world map.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
-
Calamityguy1987
- Dolphin
- Posts: 87
- Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2024 5:34 am
- Flair: Jhoto needs a overhaul
- Pronouns: male
Postby Calamityguy1987 » Sat Aug 31, 2024 6:42 am
Is it okay to rip graphics from episodes? 90% of the STTB2 world map graphics are lost forever and/or don't have confirmed author so is it okay to repost a downloadable link of the world map graphics? i won't claim them as my own, of course.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
-
Alagirez
- Mouser
- Posts: 3510
- Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 2:28 am
- Flair: Legalize Awooo!
- Pronouns: He/Him/That wolf
-
Contact:
Postby Alagirez » Sat Sep 07, 2024 9:08 pm
Even though you don't claim it, reposting unreleased stuff without permission isn't okay.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
-
Idunn
- Cheep-Cheep
- Posts: 10
- Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2024 9:54 am
- Flair: Robotic Witch
- Pronouns: Ask?
Postby Idunn » Sun Sep 08, 2024 8:31 am
Mega wrote: ↑Sat Aug 31, 2024 6:42 am
Is it okay to rip graphics from episodes?
Short: No it's not okay.
|
|
|
|
|
Return to “Help and Support”
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests
|